is it okay to sleep less than 4 hours a day?

is it okay to sleep less than 4 hours a day?

after living this world for over than 20yrs,, last night was my very first time of my sleep deprivation without side effect. my brain was still so active my eyes couldn’t closed until it was 3am. i tried to keep my body lying on the bed as i was so worried since monday will coming soon and i don’t want to be seen unprofessional because i couldn’t focused at work. but somehow, i was blacked out after 3:15am and woke up after 6am. my brain was so refreshed as i already took my 10 hours sleep, even i didn’t need to force to open my eyes this morning. i felt so weird and a bit spaced out in the morning. but somehow i got all the energy to focus at work, my brain is functioning well.

so, is this normal that i experienced this kind of stuff? i was so worried, i asked my colleague this morning if i looked abnormal, maybe something with my face or my hair or my clothes, just anything,, but she said i looked fine. i was afraid if i will passed out on daytime during my work, but apparently i’m quite sure i will survive with my 3hrs+ sleep today. so i began to do some research about “is it okay to sleep less than 4 hours a day”, only to found out that most successful people are able to sleep less than 4 hours, even less than 2 hours a day. cray. here’s the list.

Diddy (Famous for sleeping less than 4 hours a day)
“I’m not trying to make a hit record; I’m making one. This is what I studied. This is why I stay up twenty hours a day.”
“Sleep is forbidden. When I’m working, I’m a machine and I don’t look at other people like they are human.”
“I’m working when you’re sleeping!! When you think you’ve done enough for the day, KEEP GOING!!”

Silvio Berlusconi (Famous for sleeping 2-4 hours a day)
“I am constantly working and I don’t sleep more than two hours a night.”
“Work, work, work – I am almost German.”

Jerry Weintraub (Famous for sleeping 4-5 hours a day)
“I made a choice for career and for success. When you make that choice, you give up something – you have to give up something. I worked 24 hours a day and still do, seven days a week. I don’t know about Saturday or Sunday, I don’t know about holidays and vacations.”

Donald Trump (Known for sleeping 3-5 hours a day)
“I sleep very little, 3 or 4 hours a night. And that’s what I need. And I have friends that need 12 hours’ sleep. I say, 12 hours? What are you going to do? So how does somebody that’s sleeping 12 and 14 hours a day compete with somebody that’s sleeping 3 or 4 ? It doesn’t work that way.”

Dana White (2-5 hours sleeper)
“I literally require no sleep. I can go to sleep for two hours, three hours, and I get up and can kill it.”
“It’s not that I don’t get a lot of sleep, it’s that I don’t require a lot of sleep.”
“My life is so good, I don’t want to waste any minute of it sleeping. I hate sleeping.”

Darryn Lyons (3-5 hour sleeper)
“In this job, a typical working day is one that never ends. I’m usually awake by around 5 or 6 a.m, and most of the time I don’t get to bed till 2 or 3 a.m.”
“If I have to work around the clock to make something happen, then I’ll do it. People don’t want to work the hours I work, and nobody works as hard as I do. They simply can’t do it”

Damon Dash (4-6 hour sleeper)
“I think you have to give yourself goals and until you achieve them you have to work all day everyday till you get them.”
“I work hard, so I surround myself with people that work just as hard. It’s important if you want to create a successful brand. Also, the concept of being “tired” doesn’t really apply to me. In fact, I don’t even consider “tired” tired. If you want to succeed and be successful, you can’t let it bother you.”
“I see a lot of wasted talent, I seen a lot of people that have a lot of skills insight but because they are so smart they cut corners and because of that you see it in their work and a result of their work. Then I see people that are not that brilliant but because they work so hard they are relentless they don’t get it initially but they eventually will because they are way ahead of that smarter person. I think it’s about being resilient and working hard if some closes the door I open it because the doors will always be closed”
“You have to walk it like you talk it. My greatest example is myself and if I can continue to work so can they, you know what I mean? Unless you got more money than me, I don’t see how anybody could be relaxing. And even if they have more money they shouldn’t be relaxing with it. If you don’t have what I have, and I am still putting in the work, I don’t see how someone else still is (relaxing).”

Aristotle Onassis (Used to sleep 4 Hours day)
“Don’t sleep too much. If you sleep 3 hours less each night for a year, you will have an extra month and a half to succeed in.”
“Don’t worry about your physical shortcomings. I am no Greek god. Don’t get too much sleep and don ‘t tell anybody your troubles.”

Leonardo Da Vinci
was able to stay awake and alert almost 22 hours of every day, all the while working on brilliant artworks and inventions. He slept only 1.5 – 2 hours a day taking a nap 15 – 20 minutes for every four hours that he was awake.

Nikola Tesla
One of the greatest inventors claimed to sleep just 2 – 3 hours a day.

Thomas Jefferson
Thomas Jefferson is considered to be a polyphasic sleeper. He slept only 2 hours a day.

Sir Isaac Newton
Sir Isaac Newton needed 3-4 hours of sleep daily.

Martha Stewart
Martha Stewart is the founder of Martha Stewart Omnimedia. Her company produces 4 different magazines, ‘Martha Stewart Living’, ‘Everyday Food’, ‘Weddings’, and ‘Whole Living’. She also has her own TV and radio show, as well as her own products shelved in stores across the globe. According to CNN, she sleeps no more than 4 hours a night. She is a testament that passion can truly translate into success and fortune.
“It’s an exhausting lifestyle, and I always say sleep can go. It’s not important to me right now.”

Thomas Edison
Thomas only required 3 to 4 hours of sleep a night. Thomas Edison states that sleep is “a heritage from our cave days.”

Tom Ford
Fashion designer and film director. Tom Ford dropped out of NYU to pursue a career in fashion designing, this later led to his quick landing in Gucci as a design director. It is accounted that the company’s value increased by 90 percent under his leadership. Ford does not relate the company’s success to his talent but says that it is due to his energy. He sleeps for only three hours a day.

Ma Ying-Jeou
Ma Ying-Jeou is the 12th and 13th term president of the Republic of China. Earlier this year, Ying-Jeou was elected again to serve his second term as the President of Taiwan. The New York Times relates his success to his intense discipline and work ethic. It is said that he sleeps only four hours a night and exercises regularly by waking up before dawn.

so am i having sleep deprivation? i don’t think so. in fact, i feel so alive today, i could do anything just as normal as usual. am i going to be successful person? haha. i hope so. sleeping for 4 hours a day has inspired me after i wrote this article. but what am i gonna do for my extra hours? i haven’t decided anything yet. because if i continue to work, usually my hip and back hurts because of too much sit down. maybe i should think something else to maximize my extra hours.

Leave a Reply

