day-1: When in Taiwan [Ximending (西門町) Night Market]

day-1: When in Taiwan [Ximending (西門町) Night Market]

Hello holiday!!!

Since I didn’t have Christmas and New Year holiday, me and my friend finally decided to have our late Christmas holiday on January. We supposed to catch plum blossom which will bloom on late Jan until March. But unfortunately we didn’t catch any. But it was still a good holiday and we enjoyed it very much–even if my flu got worsened. ╰(*´︶`*)╯

Wed 27 Jan 2016, my friend picked me up at my house around 6am in the morning and we rushed to Changi airport. This one airport never seemed quiet. (o´∀`o)

20160128_234616We arrived at Taiyuan International Airport around 2pm–already late for our lunch! So we grabbed hot dog at 7/11, queued for the bus ticket to Taipei Main Station and wait at the lounge for about 15 minutes–finished our hot dog and joined the queued for the bus. <( ̄︶ ̄)>

And oh! We also bought these two famous Taiwanese drinks from 7/11 since my friend told me this is one of the must-try drink from Taiwan. Me bought the milk tea and my friend bought the white coffee. To be honest, this was not the best milk tea I’ve ever tried, but the bottle itself makes it special. Good effort for the packaging. ( ̄▽ ̄)b

The journey from Taiyuan airport to Taipei Main Station was less than 1 hour (about 45 minutes or so?) I really enjoyed the rural scenery; those rural areas, paddy fields, greeneries, it was so peaceful, so relaxing. Then the scenery gradually changed to city view– typical asean city but not the metropolitan ones.

Taipei Main Station is a huge station; it easy to get lost there as the station was not only for bus, but also for MRT. And we need to change to MRT to reach our hotel. Lucky for me, my friend can speak Chinese so she asked people around to show us the MRT entrance and headed to Ximending station. (´。• ᵕ •。`)

20160211_120156Welcome to Ximending (西門町) shopping district!!
20160211_120513Look at what I found lying on the ground around Ximending area!
20160211_120251a talented street-artist! A beautiful harp playing!

We reached hotel around 3:30pm. Our hotel, Diary of Taipei II was only walking distance from Ximending MRT station exit-6. Just turn around (it was on the other way round of the exit), follow the main street (Section 1, Zhonghua Road) to the north and go straight about 600m. The hotel was on your left-hand side, it located in the same building as other budget hotels. As we reached the building, we went up to 3rd level where the hotel lobby located. Our room located at the 5th floor. The room was nice, clean and a bit more spacious compare to hotels in Hong Kong or Japan. Good thing is, the lobby offers us tourist map around Ximending area so we can easily explore around, and we can always top up drinking water on every level; so no need to buy mineral water everyday! ╰(*´︶`*)╯

The sky was grey and we expected some rain tonight. So after we dropped our luggage and rest for a while at the hotel, we headed to Ximending shopping district to find something to eat. Ximending (西門町) has been called the “Harajuku of Taipei” and the “Shibuya of Taipei”. Ximending is the source of Taiwan’s fashion, subculture, and Japanese culture. Ximending has a host of many clubs and pubs surrounding the area. This area is in the northeastern part of Wanhua District in Taipei and it is also the most important consumer district in the Western District of Taipei. The well-known Ximending Pedestrian Area was the first pedestrian area built in Taipei and is the largest in Taiwan. I don’t remember much about Shibuya nor Harajuku of Japan, but I do remember Shinsaibashi-suji (心斎橋筋) in Osaka, and indeed this shopping district reminds me of it. ♡ ~(‘▽^人)

20160211_120336くまモンのおにい-さん — at 台北西門町 Ximending
CYMERA_20160211_120423A Zong Mian Xian is a yummy rice noodle with bonito flakes. Taste like たこやき soup for me. Worth the queue!
CYMERA_20160211_155023OMG bird egg vendor lady you’ve just found a new loyal customer for the next few days! LOVE the egg satay!!!
CYMERA_20160211_155056meanwhile I stayed in Ximending area, NEVER missed this egg satay!!!

I had flu since 6 days before my holiday started, so I decided to end the night not too late and rest at the hotel. The hotel offered wifi anyhow, so I should be fine meanwhile my friend went around other night market with her friends.  じゃまた!╰(▔∀▔)╯

つづく。。。

Leave a Reply

