day-2: When in Penang [Penang Hill]

day-2: When in Penang [Penang Hill]

day-2, Thursday 14 April 2016,

My plan for today was to bring my parents up to Penang Hill–the highest place in Penang where we can see the city view from the top of the hill–without me knowing my mom has a minor acrophobia. (*/ω\)

I was hesitating since last night, do I have to contact one of the taxi driver I took their name cards to bring us to the Penang Hill Lower Station, or can we just stop the taxi from outside the hotel. My dad suggested we just stop any taxi and haggle on the price. But then we met a very nice waitress at the restaurant below the hotel, she suggested us to take public bus instead of taxi, with only 2RM per person. The bus terminal was inside Prangin Mall, which was only walking distance from our hotel. So indeed, we were following her suggestion. ( ´ ▽ ` )

TaxiFareFinder said the fare from our hotel to Penang Hill Lower Station was 10.92RM. Other bloggers said taxi fare from Georgetown area to the Lower Station was around 35-40RM. But we managed to get only 6RM for three of us! ☆*:.。.o(≧▽≦)o.。.:*☆ I was so happy I saved a lot of ringgit here!! We took bus number 204 and surprisingly, the bus was as good as buses in Singapore! ヽ(o^―^o)ノ

CYMERA_20160418_111225

We took the bus at 10AM from the bus terminal, and arrived at Penang Hill Lower Station at 10:30AM. The queue was quite normal. I bought 3 tickets with tourits price, which was 30RM per person. Then we took the train to go up to the hill. The train was so packed with tourists, we didn’t get any seat. But the journey to the peak of the hill was only less than 5 minutes, so that was okay even though we couldn’t enjoy the view. <( ̄︶ ̄)>

CYMERA_20160418_111321

Once we arrived at the hilltop, my poor mom had to lay down at the bench. My dad, being a gentle husband as he always do, accompanied her. While me, being a curious explorer as always, wandering around the hill–but not too far from my parents since I didn’t want them to worry about me. ( ̄▽ ̄*)ゞ

CYMERA_20160418_111455

CYMERA_20160418_111642

CYMERA_20160418_111803

It was only less than 1 hour, then we decided to go back to town since it was almost 12PM and we were all so hungry. We took the train back. But this time I managed to get the very front seat, where I could capture a video and some nice pictures. The train went downhill and it was very exciting, almost like a roller coaster–but not so fast. <( ̄︶ ̄)>

Arrived back at the lower station, we took the same bus number 204 to Prangin Mall. Once we arrived at the mall, we went to Post Office to buy a post card, post and sent it to my hometown–just like I always do during my holiday. After that we went to the food court at 1st avenue.

We supposed to go Cathedral after lunch, but the church was locked down, all with the padlocks on. So we decided to go Kebaya Restaurant at Seven Terraces, but we couldn’t find it. Google map points it at the wrong direction. It was super hot and I felt so guilty for making my parents exhausted and thirsty. So we stopped to have our breaks at Mugshot Café at Lebuh Chulia Street we just passed by.

It was a nice café! They sell home-made yogurts and the staffs are so friendly. One of the good-looking staff helped me explain the restaurant location I was looking for, but my parents already too tired and refused to find it. So we just sit there, enjoying our yogurts with a vintage ambience. ( ̄ε ̄@)

CYMERA_20160418_111915

From here, we decided to walked back to the hotel and rest. (*¯︶¯*)

now we go to day-3!

つづく。。。

One thought on “day-2: When in Penang [Penang Hill]

Leave a Reply

