day-4: When in Bangkok [Cathedral, Temple Hunting and Cat Café]

day-4: When in Bangkok [Cathedral, Temple Hunting and Cat Café]

day-4, Sunday 11 September 2016, drizzling but sunny later!!

Today was Sunday… And you know what that means!
Me going to attend Sunday Mass!!! ♡\( ̄▽ ̄)/♡

It was drizzling when I opened my eyes this morning. I rushed to nearby 7/11 which was about 100m from the hotel, bought some bread and milk for breakfast, then hailed a taxi to the Cathedral. It was a short trip from my hotel and only cost me no more than 40B.

cymera_20161108_103806

*

These cute banana bread were so yummy, I took it some for tomorrow breakfast too!

And finally I arrived at the Cathedral. The building doesn’t look old from the outside.
The Assumption Cathedral (Thai: อาสนวิหารอัสสัมชัญ) is the principal Roman Catholic church of Thailand, located within the grounds of Assumption College (Thailand) at 23 Oriental Avenue, New Road, in the Bang Rak district of Bangkok. It is the main church of the Archdiocese of Bangkok. It was visited by Pope John Paul II during his trip to Thailand in 1984.The Renaissance style building is the Cathedral of the Archbishop and of the Archdiocese of Bangkok. The Latin term “Assumpta est Maria in Caelum” (“the assumption of Mary into heaven”) is inscribed in the arch of the ceiling in the middle of the Cathedral.

More about this Cathedral please visit my other blog at catholico or wiki  or their local website here.

*

cymera_20161108_103830

*

According to my plan, my schedule for today was walk from Cathedral to robinson department store, go to see the giant red swing, visit some temples, cat café, then probably go to Siam shopping mall if I still had time. (o˘◡˘o)

After the peaceful morning at the Cathedral, I was hungrily walked to hobbyist café. It was wooden café with nice interior from the google. But I couldn’t find the café, I saw a closed wooden door that looked like that café, so I assumed probably it was closed down. I continued to walk and finally found the next café called Ice Café.

*

cymera_20161108_103934

cymera_20161108_103958

*

I had a not-so-nice-but-so-expensive green curry with rice and a bucket of ice lemon tea on this very hot day. They robbed me for more than 500B for my order. The only good thing about this café is the free wifi. I felt like I wasn’t very lucky to find this café anyway, so I decided to quickly make a move and continue my journey. ( ̄ヘ ̄)

I decided to go to one of the famous temple first, called Wat Ratchanadaram. It’s a white buildings with castle-like black roofs and looked so gorgeous from google. But little did I know, it was closed down for renovation! My taxi dropped me at Maha Chai Road, just few meters away from the castle/temple. And there was some black curtain covering what I supposed is the temple I was going to visit. I was disappointed, but since I was already arrived there and very far away from my hotel or shopping malls or BTS stations, so might as well I walk around, see other temples too and find The Giant Swing.. (;⌣̀_⌣́)

*

cymera_20161108_104052

*

Wat Thepthidaram Worawihan was just next to me. It another white temple with normal gable roof and those ornament on the roof, common for vernacular buildings in Thailand. Wat Thepthidaram Worawihan (Wat Thepthidaram) วัดเทพธิดารามวรวิหาร (วัดเทพธิดาราม) was founded by King Rama III and was built between 1836 and 1839. Wat Thepthidaram is in the Chinese architectural style.

Please note, to always bring your own map, umbrella and water bottle in your bag if you want to walk around in Bangkok for temple hoping, especially durnig a sunny day. With all the technology, you can just easily use the google map. But I’m not that kind of person to rely on technology during my holiday. I’d rather do my homework before I go, print out the map, and turn off my internet connection so I can really enjoy the holiday, getting lost, or happily arrived at my destination. That’s an adventure! \(★ω★)/

I took some pictures and met another tourist there. He was about 60s, came from a small country somewhere in Europe I’ve never heard about. I even couldn’t recall his name either, it was too strange on my ear. Anyway, he politely approached me and offered me a help for taking picture and asked me to do the same in return. And apparently he had a huge tourist map on his bag, he showed me the temples around, and he confidentally asked me to go along with him, visit all of those temples and help each other to take pictures. (# ̄0 ̄)

He was nice but not so nice. He was talking non-stop about himself, about his family back in his hometown, about his small hometown back in Europe I’ve never heard about, how he will travel to Phuket, then Malaysia, then Jakarta after this Bangkok trip, and how he will show off all the pictures to all his friends and family in his hometown because most of them never been outside their country, yada-yada-yada. <( ̄ ﹌  ̄)>

But surprisingly, that guy managed to drag me walk with him for more than 2 kilos to Wat Pho under a hot sunny day! ( ̄□ ̄」)

*

cymera_20161108_104501

cymera_20161108_104341

cymera_20161108_104259

cymera_20161108_104128

cymera_20161108_104541

cymera_20161108_104800

*

Wat Pho (Thai: วัดโพธิ์, IPA: [wát pʰoː]), also spelt Wat Po, is a Buddhist temple complex in the Phra Nakhon District, Bangkok, Thailand. It is on Rattanakosin Island, directly south of the Grand Palace. Known also as the Temple of the Reclining Buddha, its official name is Wat Phra Chetuphon Vimolmangklararm Rajwaramahaviharn.

The temple is first on the list of six temples in Thailand classed as the highest grade of the first-class royal temples. It is associated with King Rama I who rebuilt the temple complex on an earlier temple site, and became his main temple where some of his ashes are enshrined. The temple was later expanded and extensively renovated by Rama III. The temple complex houses the largest collection of Buddha images in Thailand, including a 46 m long reclining Buddha.

I managed to slip through the entrance when the guard wasn’t looking. Thinking about it, there was a good side too wasting my time and ignoring my itinerary to follow him. I could see this beautiful colorful temple complex. But I did start to feel like being his private photographer, taking him pictures exactly as he wanted to. And when he did to me in return, he didn’t take a good picture as I expected! I have a very high taste in taking picture especially for beautiful buildings! You can’t cut the building roof or my leg just because the screen is not wide enough, you have to work for the best angle! And find the best photographic angle needs a certain skill! For me personally, don’t go for a solo trip unless you have a selfie stick and a phone with good front lens! (¬_¬;)

Slowly but surely, I took selfies more with my stick, rather than asked him to take picture for me. Seeing me doing stuffs by myself and didn’t need him anymore, he started to ask someone else to take pictures for him. And slowly I managed to slip away and disappeared from him. Once I was sure he wasn’t around, I walked out to the exit door and hailed a taxi. ( ̄ω ̄)

I didn’t regret that I didn’t see the famous reclining Buddha. I thought, I’d be more in regret if I kept myself being around him and be his slave-photographer. Also, my taxi driver brought me around to pass The Giant Swing, I didn’t walked pass this swing because that old man was lost and we finally walked around to Wat Pho. (⇀‸↼‶)

*

cymera_20161108_104652

cymera_20161108_104616

*

The Giant Swing (Thai: เสาชิงช้า, rtgsSao Chingcha, pronounced [sǎw t͡ɕʰīŋ.t͡ɕʰáː]) is a religious structure in Phra Nakhon, Bangkok, Thailand. Located in front of Wat Suthat, it was formerly used in an old Brahmin ceremony, and is one of Bangkok’s tourist attractions.

The Giant Swing was constructed in 1784 in front of the Devasathan shrine by King Rama I. But was discontinued in the latter years of King Rama VII’s reign (1925 – 1935). But in its heyday it was an annual event. According to an ancient Hindu epic, after Brahma created the world he sent Shiva to look after it. According to Brahmin belief, Phra Isuan (Siva) descended from heaven to earth for 10 days each year. And during his stay, had to be entertained.  The swinging ceremony known as Triyampavai-Tripavai was held; four men seated cross-legged on the swing seat, set in moving, climber higher and higher towards a bamboo pole holding a small bag containing three tamlung, equal to 12 Baht. When the swingers’ arc approached 180 degrees, one man would lean outward to snatch the bag. Miscalculations could result in injury and even death. If they were successful, succeeding teams would vie for prizes of 10 Baht, and then eight Baht. In 1919, the swing poles were replaced by Louis T Leonowens Co. to honor their founder, the son of Anna Leonowens (of ‘King and I’ fame). In 2007, they were replaced by the Bangkok Metropolitan Authority.

That’s it for today’s history lesson. Sorry I had to run away from the old man, but i had my own schedule. My tight but extraordinary fun itinerary, and I didn’t want one stranger ruin it. My next stop is the Cat Café!!! (╯✧▽✧)╯

*

cymera_20161108_104952

cymera_20161108_114212

*

Located at 10400, 115 Phayathai Rd, Thanon Phetchaburi, Ratchathewi, Bangkok 10400, Thailand, Caturday Café opens at 12 to 9PM. My taxi dropped me at Phayathal Road, just before the bridge to Ratchathewi BTS Station. It wasn’t difficult to find this café. from the bridge staircase, just walk about 20-30m, on your left-hand side you will see ‘guts’ restaurant. Turn right there and pass the car park entrance. This cute cafe is just few meters away from the sidewalk, you will see the sign petruding.

According to my itinerary, I was supposed to arrived at this cafe at 1:30PM. But because of that old man dragged me to Wat Pho, I only arrived after 3PM. I thought to have short break from the sunny day, then head to shopping mall afterwards. But apparently that didn’t happen. ( ̄ω ̄”)

Walked inside the entrance door, the staff greeted me and asked me to take off my shoes, wash my hands, and wear their slippers. Just after that I was allowed to get inside the second door. The staffs showed my table in the corner with a grey cat sleeping peacefully, so I got a company. ♡ ~(‘▽^人)

I ordered french fries and Thai Ice Tea with float. Not long after I sat down and enjoying my late lunch, the staffs gathered all the cats for snacks. Some of them had energy to play and chased the snacks, but most of the cats (including the grey dude sleeping on my table) was just too lazy to lift up its head. I had a great time and finally spent more than 3 hours here and decided not to go to shopping malls instead. I took a lot of good selfies with the cats and finally headed back to the hotel. ♡(。-ω-)

*

cymera_20161108_114236

cymera_20161108_114251

cymera_20161108_114324

cymera_20161108_114336

cymera_20161108_114225

cymera_20161108_114347

*

That was it! I was way too tired after walked around from temple to temple, but I had some great pictures to show off to my facebook friends (haha!) and I was so sure my solo trip was GREAT so far!!!

So, see you on cabaret tomorrow! ☆⌒ヽ(*’、^*)chu

つづく。。。

One thought on “day-4: When in Bangkok [Cathedral, Temple Hunting and Cat Café]

Leave a Reply

